Labor Day Munch

Tonight was the Saturday munch, a very crowded and warm one.  Andee, who was actually at the very first munch, was there.  I haven’t seen her in a doaen years, anyway.

I talked to my pals Josh and Cerrin, mostly, and Charles and jacki.  slave drew went and was in his usual slightly manic form.  He was quite funny.

It’s Labor Day weekend.  It rained here off and on much of the day, but this evening driving home was lovely.  It was cool and the air smelled sweet from the rain.  My birthday is this week, and since the September munch is so close to the actual anniversary in October, this seems like it’s always a munch that puts me in a more reflective mood.

When I founded the munches, I wanted a place where people could find a community.  That was really what mattered to me, I thought it mattered and I still do.  I am pleased the munches continue, and still continue to be welcoming and friendly, and to bring in new people.

I used to have a very good memory for people who had come to munches even once or twice, but after 15 years, the once or twice are harder to recall.  I feel badly sometimes when it’s clear I don’t remember someone who remembers me, but I don’t have the incentive to remember so much anymore, either.

It used to be, when I did the munches, I knew most of the people there, or knew more than anyone else.  I named the people at the munch, because I knew them, and then, as it grew, I developed some tricks and habits that made it easier for me to remember people’s names, so I could include the new folk’s names among the rest.

It also let people know they were part of the group now, and it actually gave the new people a chance to catch and remember the names of one or two people they’d talked to, if they wanted to.

Now that I don’t have to do that, though the obligation was self-imposed, I don’t pay as much attention to names.  I don’t always remember people because I don’t have to, though I try my best.

So, there were lots of people including some of those from the past, and that was nice.  On the other hand, it was a long day and a busy one, during which I finalized the Titleholder auction info from GLLA to know how much was raised.

Next month will be our 15th anniversary.  It’s astonishing to me that they have run that long and are still running, that never once in 15 years has a munch been cancelled or moved.  Thousands of people, literally, have come to at least one munch over the years.

Who’d have thought that was possible?

And yet, here we are.  Time is the farthest distance between two points.

About MsConstanceExplains

Ms Constance has been actively involved in the BDSM/Leather community since the mid-1990’s. She is the Founder of the Louisville Munch as well as its hostess for ten years, from 1997 to 2007, and was christened as “Louisville’s First Lady” by her community. As a member of various BDSM/Leather organizations, she has been nominated for Pantheon Woman of the Year as well as regional awards, and has been nominated with her slave, drew, for Pantheon Couple of the Year. She serves as Special Events Director for the Great Lakes Leather Alliance. She produces the Bluegrass Leather Pride Contest, sending contestants to Great Lakes Leather Weekend, and was Presenters Committee Chair for Leather Leadership Conference 2010 Great Lakes/Ontario. She has produced and judged Leather events and contests, been instrumental in the organization and creation of various groups and clubs, advised and encouraged other communities and endeavors, and produced a performance by a BDSM comedian. Groups around the country use her writings in information and introductory packets, and she is an occasional columnist as well. She and slave drew hold the titles of Great Lakes Master and slave 2003.

Posted on September 1, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Time is the farthest distance between two points. I love that quote! Congratulations on 15 years!

Leave a Reply

