Tarot Cards

I have, sitting in front of me, a deck of Tarot cards I bought at a yard sale this weekend for a quarter.  By odd coincidence they’d been separated from the book that went with it at a largish church yard sale this past weekend and it wasn’t until I got home that I realized by complete chance I had found both of them.

There are two things I will always buy at yard sales, if they’re $1 or less.  One is handwork like embroidered tea towels or dresser scarves or tablecloths.  I know that some woman sat with a needle and thread, spent her spare time making something pretty, chose to do that rather than read or sleep or relax, so I pick them up.

The other thing is a decks of Tarot cards.  I don’t even bother to see if they’re all there, I don’t care if they are a deck I already have, I have given decks away, too, and over the years have found some interesting decks.  Interestingly, I only have one deck that is missing several cards.  It’s a very strange deck, sort of Peter Max goes 1971 book cover for your algebra.

I actually find very few duplicates.  I probably have three or four decks of Rider Waite decks, because that’s kind of the AOL of Tarot cards – everybody who’s ever been interested has one of those laying around somewhere, but it’s not something you use very often and when you run across it you think, oh, yeah, I do have that, don’t I?

The reason I buy those at yard sales is probably because I’m a little superstitious, for lack of a better word, about them.  I’ve been interested in Tarot cards since I was in my teens, and never, in that time, NOT interested in them.  It’s never been one of those interests that come and go, I always have a deck of them near my desk, usually a half dozen.

Because I like the cards and I’ve used them for so long, it feels almost sacrilegious to leave them behind.  I have walked away from sets that were priced more than $2 or $3, I think because at that point, I figure the person understands they have value.

The deck I bought most recently is the Simply Tarot one and in some ways, it might be the oddest one I have, and that’s saying a lot, because I have some odd decks.  This one has taken the traditional images and Photoshoped real faces on to them.

I actually want to write about them more, but it’s later than I thought and morning comes early, so that will have to wait.

Pick a card, any card…

About MsConstanceExplains

Ms Constance has been actively involved in the BDSM/Leather community since the mid-1990’s. She is the Founder of the Louisville Munch as well as its hostess for ten years, from 1997 to 2007, and was christened as “Louisville’s First Lady” by her community. As a member of various BDSM/Leather organizations, she has been nominated for Pantheon Woman of the Year as well as regional awards, and has been nominated with her slave, drew, for Pantheon Couple of the Year. She serves as Special Events Director for the Great Lakes Leather Alliance. She produces the Bluegrass Leather Pride Contest, sending contestants to Great Lakes Leather Weekend, and was Presenters Committee Chair for Leather Leadership Conference 2010 Great Lakes/Ontario. She has produced and judged Leather events and contests, been instrumental in the organization and creation of various groups and clubs, advised and encouraged other communities and endeavors, and produced a performance by a BDSM comedian. Groups around the country use her writings in information and introductory packets, and she is an occasional columnist as well. She and slave drew hold the titles of Great Lakes Master and slave 2003.

Posted on September 10, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

