Georgia on my Mind

We got back from Atlanta about a half hour ago.

We had a fun time at Leather Bash – it was small, but I had a chance to meet some new people and catch up with some old friends.

Leather Bash and the International Transgender Leather Contest is produced by Wayne Brawner, someone who would, I think, describe himself as a modern primitive, at least in terms of my understanding of the term.  If you’d like to see a short bio and photo of him, it’s here.

He’s tattooed and pierced and can be quite intimidating. He is also the only person in my memory to ever call me kitten.

He is one of my contacts on Facebook and that’s usually how he contacts me.  He sent me a message asking for a bio of myself and Ms Tammy, so I pulled that and sent it and he responded, “Thank you, kitten.”

I blinked, re-read it, and laughed.  A couple days later he needed a photo, so I sent that.  “Thanks, kitten.”

I told Ms Kendra about it and she laughed and said, “Oh, that just means Wayne likes you.”

I’ve known his slave, slave keith, for probably nearly a decade now.  He has since left the Board of Directors, but he’s been involved in GLLA since the beginning and still continues to be involved, though his positions have changed since moving to Atlanta to be with Wayne.

I also got to spend time with one of my favorite people in the world, Ms Kendra.  I have known Ms Kendra for 12 or 14 years, and I am one of her “children,” one of the people who hold a title which she produced.  I respect her as much as anyone I know, and we don’t get a lot of time together when we’re not both running events.

I saw Daddy Mikey, whom I have known since slave drew and I competed at International Master and slave in 2004, when he had just won the Olympus title.  He is also the sash husband of my friend, Lilly.

Sash husbands and wives, by the way, are the counterpart to a titleholder.  If you were, for instance, Mr Olympus Leather in 2008, your sash wife would be Ms Olympus Leather 2008.  Not all titles have sash spouses.

I suppose drew and I would be each other’s sash husband and wife, but they don’t normally talk about the Master and slave titles that way.

The others who won titles at the same event as you did are usually called the class of whichever year, and your sash family are all those who hold any of your titles – all the Great Lakes titleholders are part of my sash family, as are anyone who has a Master or slave title.

So, we caught up with Daddy Mikey, who lives in Atlanta, but has family near here.

We met the Mistress of a friend, Jai.  Ms Shae lives in Atlanta so I had never had a chance to meet her previously.  That was nice.

Wayne took us to dinner at a lovely restaurant, Wisteria, in full leather.  It was absolutely lovely.

I sat across from Catherine Gross, whom I’ve known since she was one of our judges at International, back in 2004.  We’re not close, but we’ve always been friendly, and we know a lot of the same people, so we have a lot of common ground.

We also sat across from one of the judges, Mitch, whose name in the program was Michelle.  She was very pleasant, too.

The contest was the new Mr and Ms International Transgender contest, and was won by Ian and Samantha.  It’s conceived of as a teaching title, a sort of ambassador from the transgender community to the larger kink community to educate them about the issues and concerns of those who are transgender.

The Master and slave title was actually conceived of for the same general purpose, too, because 15 or 20 years ago, Master and slave relationships were not very well-received in the kink community.

It was a common question a few years back, one that slave drew, in fact, was asked, is “If your owner told you to jump off a cliff, would you?”

Some judges would have told you that the right answer was yes, because as a slave, your first commitment is to obey.  Others would have told you that the right answer was no, because a slave still had to have enough autonomy to keep themselves safe.

Anyway, it will be interesting to see how the contest progresses, which I will apparently have a good view for, since I am apparently judging next year.  I told Wayne that we’d really enjoyed it, and he pointed at me and said, “Good, because you’re coming back next year, because you’re judging.”

Judge Kitten, that’s me.

About MsConstanceExplains

Ms Constance has been actively involved in the BDSM/Leather community since the mid-1990’s. She is the Founder of the Louisville Munch as well as its hostess for ten years, from 1997 to 2007, and was christened as “Louisville’s First Lady” by her community. As a member of various BDSM/Leather organizations, she has been nominated for Pantheon Woman of the Year as well as regional awards, and has been nominated with her slave, drew, for Pantheon Couple of the Year. She serves as Special Events Director for the Great Lakes Leather Alliance. She produces the Bluegrass Leather Pride Contest, sending contestants to Great Lakes Leather Weekend, and was Presenters Committee Chair for Leather Leadership Conference 2010 Great Lakes/Ontario. She has produced and judged Leather events and contests, been instrumental in the organization and creation of various groups and clubs, advised and encouraged other communities and endeavors, and produced a performance by a BDSM comedian. Groups around the country use her writings in information and introductory packets, and she is an occasional columnist as well. She and slave drew hold the titles of Great Lakes Master and slave 2003.

Posted on September 16, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

