Questions for Dominants 12

13.   Are there other members of your family who are also involved, to your knowledge?

Probably the thing to most remember in my answers is that I am not close to my family.

My parents are both dead and have been for a long time.

I have two brothers.  The eldest lives in Scotland with his wife, and their daughters and their children also live there.  I haven’t seen him since, I think, 1995.  We swap a message on Facebook once or twice a year, maybe.

No particular reason, no falling out, just… not close.

Knowing what I do know about him, I suspect it’s just as well.  He is much more  conservative, though no more religious, than I am.

His two children are something like 30 and 40.  I have seen his oldest daughter once, when she was eight or so, and his younger daughter three times, I believe.  I’ve never seen their children and couldn’t tell you any of their names.

The younger of my two brothers lives in Tucson.  He and I are much closer than either of us are with our other brother, but that’s not all that close, compared to most families.

We visited my brother just after we married, and would like to get back, but it’s five years later and we haven’t.  We talk maybe once or twice a year on the phone, probably the same number of emails.

He has one daughter, who I met at the same time we visited him.  She was 22.

I have the usual assortment of cousins, etc., but none that live within 500 miles, so far as I’m aware, and most I’ve met once if at all, so kind of hard to know.

But now, let’s go back to the niece, the younger brother’s daughter, and here’s the funny part…

So she seems to be one of the kids who has always lived on Facebook.  If I put up something, she likes it or comments on it, usually within 15 minutes.

What that means is I see her photo a lot, because she also posts a lot.

I noticed about a year ago that she had put up a new profile photo, and it was interesting enough that I went to her profile to take a closer look.

What was most interesting about the photo, I think, was that she was wearing in it a green U.S. Army Officer’s peaked hat.

Well, it was really interesting to me, anyway, because I own a hat so similar I couldn’t tell a difference.

Mine is, slave drew tells me, a vintage piece, probably 50 years old or more, and belonged to an Officer, it isn’t a fake or a surplus one that was never worn.

I don’t remember where it came from, probably an antique store or a yard sale somewhere, I am always on the lookout for that kind of thing because I have a bit of a uniform fetish.

Where she got hers, I can’t say, but I think it’s fair to say that there’s a bit of a uniform fetish going on there, too.

Then I started looking at her photos.

She had two wearing the same hat.

In the second one she was also wearing a gas mask.

Um, ok, you win, I do NOT own a gas mask.  Now, I could have one in my hands within 24 hours, should I need it, because I know who, besides my niece, HAS a gas mask, but really…

I do not OWN a gas mask.

Then, out of curiosity, I looked at her friends.  We had no mutual friends at all outside of family, but as I happened to roll my mouse across one of the names there, someone I didn’t know, I saw something.

You’ve seen it, too.

“Two mutual friends.”

Huh?

My niece and who else?

Interestingly, after I spent about ten minutes rolling the same mouse over every one of her friends, I discovered that I had something in common with about a half dozen of them, beyond the acquaintance of my niece.

And in five of the cases, that other mutual acquaintance was one of two people, both well-known and popular BDSM presenters, Midori and Lee Harrington.  I’ve known both of them for a decade or so, not well, but if less than friends, then more than acquaintances.

In the case of the sixth person, we shared a totally “normal” kinky friend, not a presenter or a titleholder, just someone I know from munches in the area.

So, I think she’s kinky, at least to some extent.

But that’s not all.

A month or so ago she put out a post saying that she no longer wanted to be known by her birth name, a name I’ve never liked personally, anyway.

What she did want to be known as, however, was Hugh.

There were no plans, the post said, to explore gender-reassignment surgery, but the goal was to move to a more “gender neutral identity.”

Now, I hope it’s obvious that I have no problems with this.  It doesn’t matter to me if she wants to be my niece or my nephew, whatever.

But isn’t that rather interesting?

(I have to say that I don’t think this is a particularly compelling question and if I do this again, I will eliminate it.  Sometimes you do good, sometimes you have a clunker.  Oh, well.)

About MsConstanceExplains

Ms Constance has been actively involved in the BDSM/Leather community since the mid-1990’s. She is the Founder of the Louisville Munch as well as its hostess for ten years, from 1997 to 2007, and was christened as “Louisville’s First Lady” by her community. As a member of various BDSM/Leather organizations, she has been nominated for Pantheon Woman of the Year as well as regional awards, and has been nominated with her slave, drew, for Pantheon Couple of the Year. She serves as Special Events Director for the Great Lakes Leather Alliance. She produces the Bluegrass Leather Pride Contest, sending contestants to Great Lakes Leather Weekend, and was Presenters Committee Chair for Leather Leadership Conference 2010 Great Lakes/Ontario. She has produced and judged Leather events and contests, been instrumental in the organization and creation of various groups and clubs, advised and encouraged other communities and endeavors, and produced a performance by a BDSM comedian. Groups around the country use her writings in information and introductory packets, and she is an occasional columnist as well. She and slave drew hold the titles of Great Lakes Master and slave 2003.

Posted on October 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. facebook is the most fascinating thing – I bet she knows you are kinky too.

    And yes, I agree, your other questions have been better.

    -sin

  2. Given the kinds of things I post, she cannot help but know it, no. She’s never commented, but that’s ok, too.

    It is rather amusing, though, that we have the same cap.

  3. I thought your answer to the question was really interesting. I wouldn’t eliminate it if I were you. I asked my Master if he’d like to do the questions, but he is not interested. For our families, we have had no indication that anyone is at all kinky. Well, there was my uncle, who was gay, and he once mentioned frat house spankings, but that is all. I couldn’t even tell if he was meaning it as “Oh boy! Spankings!” or “I can’t believe we had to go through that”, sort of thing. I think it may have been the former.

    My Master thinks my brother and sister in law are kinky, but I have seen no indications of that. I think she just likes to be in charge and he’s happy to let her. So it’s more of an unofficial D/s thing without the kink. Not that we talk about it with them, so I don’t really know.

  4. Well, it may not always be a compelling question, but your response was pretty darn interesting! How fascinating…

    aisha

Leave a Reply

