Road Trip Redux

This is the blog I actually meant to write, based on danae’s blog, which you can find  here.

I love travel, as I said.

I am also quite fond of road travel, because there’s so much freedom.

If a plane is delayed, you’re stuck.  You can’t change your plans and you’re also at their mercy.

With a car trip, you can take side trips, eat when you want, stop when you like, control your own destiny.

Imagine how much better I like that.

One of the other benefits is exactly what danae’s post mentions, the long conversations they allow.

I love the kind of questions that spur one of those long, rambling conversations, that genuinely give you insight into someone’s life.

I remember one long conversation across the Midwest spurred by the casual question, “What was your favorite toy as a kid?”

I’ve also learned much of what I know about the Civil War and what I know beyond the basics of the two World Wars during trips spent with drew.

I can say, for example, “Who were the four best generals of the Confederacy?,” or “What was the single most important battle in WWII?”

Without hesitation, he will launch into a well-reasoned and genuinely interesting of that topic.

slave drew also LOVES maps.  Give him a map and he’s happy.  He’ll spend hours pouring over the map, sharing facts like which National Park is larger than which other National Park, or which National Seashore is the one where a particular species of tern winter.

We stop at odd little places.  Eagle nesting grounds and where the sea lions gather.  Sweet little towns that are out of the way and off the beaten path.

We drive around the town square and talk about the other towns of which we are reminded, how this square looks a little bit like that one, and remember that sweet little town where we had that fabulous lunch.

I would guess that I have probably traveled something beginning to approach a half million miles.  I know how many miles I have put on cars over the years, and how many cars were involved.

I’ve driven cross country, from Kentucky to Nevada, at least three times, maybe four.

Beth and I made more trips between Kentucky and New York than I can, or want, to remember.

Beth was, of course, afraid of flying, so we drove.

Since I started going to and presenting at events, too, I’ve driven to other events, too, sometimes with unexpected companions, beyond drew and thomas.

I’ve traveled with Ms Tammy a fair amount, and some with Ms Kendra.

I’ve traveled with Kenny and Josh and Cerrin.  I’ve traveled, long ago, with Master Larry and slave beverly.

I’ve traveled with my friend Deb, and John and marsha, and a host of submissive men who were serving me.

I’ve traveled alone, too, countless trips to Cincy and Indy and Lexington.

I drove to Dallas and back alone in March.

slave drew’s house is just under 200 miles one way, so jaunts down there are a bit more than a cross-town trip, and I often go alone.

I had a job once that had a commute of about 45 minutes one day.  I didn’t love it, but I did find that I did a lot of thinking on those solitary trips.

If I have something to chew over, a decision to make, a path to follow or leave, I don’t mind a long trip.

Before heading on a longish trip, I like having a few things that I do need to think over, things that I need to decide about.  I might want to think through my upcoming contest, or consider moving forward with another project, if I should and the best way to do it.

If you like books about road trips, I’ll recommend my favorite, Blue Highways.  It’s by William Least Heat Moon, who was actually one of Beth’s professors in college.

His father was Heat Moon, his brother was Little Heat Moon so he, of course, was Least Heat Moon.

He called it Blue Highways because that’s what he traveled, the Blue Highways on the map, and visited places like Dime Box, Texas, and Nameless, Kentucky.

Isn’t it time for another road trip soon?

About MsConstanceExplains

Ms Constance has been actively involved in the BDSM/Leather community since the mid-1990’s. She is the Founder of the Louisville Munch as well as its hostess for ten years, from 1997 to 2007, and was christened as “Louisville’s First Lady” by her community. As a member of various BDSM/Leather organizations, she has been nominated for Pantheon Woman of the Year as well as regional awards, and has been nominated with her slave, drew, for Pantheon Couple of the Year. She serves as Special Events Director for the Great Lakes Leather Alliance. She produces the Bluegrass Leather Pride Contest, sending contestants to Great Lakes Leather Weekend, and was Presenters Committee Chair for Leather Leadership Conference 2010 Great Lakes/Ontario. She has produced and judged Leather events and contests, been instrumental in the organization and creation of various groups and clubs, advised and encouraged other communities and endeavors, and produced a performance by a BDSM comedian. Groups around the country use her writings in information and introductory packets, and she is an occasional columnist as well. She and slave drew hold the titles of Great Lakes Master and slave 2003.

Posted on October 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I grew up taking 3000 mile vacations over two weeks. Wolf and I travel a lot and one of our trips in in the mountains was highlighted by me saying, “Wolf, Wolf, that is Not a road! ” to which he replied, “It’s only one small tree!” but then he backed down the 35 degree slope.

    We will be on the road Wednesday to Cheyenne Wyo. We read novels to each other when we drive. Tthe book this time is Terry Pratchett’s Men at Arms.

  2. I love road trips. I grew up traveling from Kansas City to California by car every summer. Those were some of the best vacations. I really love traveling alone. I can stop when I want to stop and start in the morning whenever I am ready. And if I see something interesting I can stop Or keep going. It is one of the reasons I want to buy a newer car. So I can go on more road trips.

  3. I love to drive.
    I love taking back roads rather than always taking highways. My Saturday job is a 45 minute commute, whether one takes the highway, or back roads, it takes almost the same amount of time.

    There is a lot of quiet (quality) time, the radio is off, and it’s just me, and the road. Birds, tree’s, a river…all parts of my Saturday morning. It is the break I look forward to all week (as a SAHM of 4 who homeschools).

    Great post Ms. Constance!

    nilla

    • Growing up in the west in the family in which I grew up, you kind of learn to interpret the term “road” relatively loosely.

      It’s a term which can be applied to cattle paths, dry river beds, and sheer rock faces.

      I have been on roads with my brother so steep you braced your feet on the floor and your hands on the roof and door to keep from falling into the windshield.

      drew found it really funny when he met my brother. We did what we have always done as a family, you go out and drive around the desert.

      We had meandered up mountains and across flats, and were winding up a pretty sketchy road that spiraled up around the mountain.

      My brother looked at the very steep hill to the left as he drove and said, “If it weren’t for gravity, we could just go up that way.”

      Well, yeah, if it weren’t for gravity…

  4. Oh my, I read this reply at work and just laughed out loud! If it weren’t for gravity, indeed! Remind me to never go driving in the desert! I’ll stick to my backroads of New England! 🙂

    nilla

Leave a Reply

