Kinky Kollege Kreshendo

Ok, so that’s a pretty bad title, but hey, it’s late and I’ve been in a car for something like six hours today.

I had my last class this morning, a class called Dancing on the Edge, which is about, unsurprisingly, Edge Play.

One of the things I’d like to do over the winter, when I don’t foresee traveling much, is to update and improve my class notes.

I have them all on my hard drive, of course, but they’re not organized in a way that really works anymore, and I have been doing some of them long enough that I use the full notes a lot less and what I really need for all of them is something more like a bulleted outline.

Which I should also transfer to Power Point presentations, too, that have those same bulleted outlines, because then I could actually carry a lot less paper when I travel, too.

But, anyway, I did that particular class and had about eight or nine people in the class, which was fine.

I learned long ago not to worry overly about how many people come to my classes.

I’m neither a really big name, nor do I usually address subjects that are particularly “sexy,” like shibari or single tail, so I rarely have a packed house.

Some classes are bigger than others.  I’d say that the biggest group I’ve had for a class was a class on Negotiations at PEERPhest five or six years ago, maybe more.  For whatever reason, I had a ridiculous amount of people in the class, like 40 or 45.

The least I’ve ever had was a class I did for Camp Crucible a couple years before, when some class I was doing, I forget which, had ONE person show up.

Camp Crucible is held at a boy’s camp, which kinky folk take over for probably a total of ten days from beginning to end.

You live in dorm-style cabins, you eat in the mess hall, you can stay naked all weekend if you like, have sex on the buffet table, or beat someone tied to a tree outside.  I know this because I have seen all of that there.

I was perfectly happy that only one person showed because it meant I didn’t have to do the class, which I *think* was a New Dominant’s class.  Over the two or three days I’d been there, I just hadn’t had great classes.

My subjects just didn’t fit well with the event and it was like presenting to an oil painting.

Of bored people.

And not a lot of bored people, either.

They were also really long class times, I think, like an hour and a half or two hours, and I was not experienced enough to just be able to happily fill however much time they gave me, which is true now.

I waited maybe ten minutes past starting time to give anyone else a chance to get there and said something like, “Well, I’m sorry that didn’t work out,” thinking he would take it to mean as I did that we were calling the whole thing off.

What he said was, “I don’t mind, I have a lot of questions.”

Now, this would have been ok if he had been attractive, or smart, or particularly well-mannered, but he was none of those.

He sat, about four or five feet directly in front of me, in a folding chair on some kind of outdoor sports court.  His legs were spread and his arms crossed over his belly and the class lasted approximately 184 HOURS and it was horrible.

Less than four is hard, though I’ve done a couple of classes that small that were actually very good, and classes that people seemed to get a lot out of.

Six up to about 25 is ideal to me.  More than that and it feels a little too impersonal, less than that and it’s almost too intimate.

Attendees, too, usually can be counted on to ask questions.  If you have a third of the attendees that your class is sort of geared for, you also get a third of the questions and maybe less, and the class can also be short.  Too many people and you don’t get to the end, meaning you don’t cover everything you meant to.

Anyway, now it’s somehow much later than I meant for it to be for the “Kreshendo.”

So, let me do the short summary then I’ll write more tomorrow.

I won a cane in the silent auction, the one I really wanted, a steel handled one by Tool Works, whose toys I have been buying for years, since the days of Vicious Valentine, anyway.

I am stealing their idea for a vendor raffle, but I’ve told them that.

I’ve already been asked to come back in April, and one of the “featured” presenters is Nina Hartley, which would be very cool.

I want to develop a class, I think, for people who want to be presenters.

And now, it’s too late on a Sunday night, so I am off to dream of canes and crops and edges and more.

About MsConstanceExplains

Ms Constance has been actively involved in the BDSM/Leather community since the mid-1990’s. She is the Founder of the Louisville Munch as well as its hostess for ten years, from 1997 to 2007, and was christened as “Louisville’s First Lady” by her community. As a member of various BDSM/Leather organizations, she has been nominated for Pantheon Woman of the Year as well as regional awards, and has been nominated with her slave, drew, for Pantheon Couple of the Year. She serves as Special Events Director for the Great Lakes Leather Alliance. She produces the Bluegrass Leather Pride Contest, sending contestants to Great Lakes Leather Weekend, and was Presenters Committee Chair for Leather Leadership Conference 2010 Great Lakes/Ontario. She has produced and judged Leather events and contests, been instrumental in the organization and creation of various groups and clubs, advised and encouraged other communities and endeavors, and produced a performance by a BDSM comedian. Groups around the country use her writings in information and introductory packets, and she is an occasional columnist as well. She and slave drew hold the titles of Great Lakes Master and slave 2003.

Posted on October 28, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am so glad you had a fun filled weekend. I wish I could have made it up there this year but I just had too much going on to be able to get up there.

  2. Your weekend sounded like you had fun. I have come to realize that it doesn’t matter what kind of class you teach, there will always be odd audiences. I teach computer classes for Senior Citizens, and for six months running I had good and bad classes, and one student came every single time. He was in his 80’s and had never remembered the previous class and was always enthusiastic.

    • You know, really the only kind of student that gets on my nerves a lot is one who tries to hijack the class.

      We’ve all seen them. They’re the ones who seem to turn a class for everyone into a dialogue for them, or a forum to air their issues.

      That drives me CRAZY. In one class I did a couple years ago, I literally said to someone there, “Actually, I should be talking more than you should.” I expect a teacher to be willing and able to wrestle the class back too their topic.

Leave a Reply

