Munch Weekend

So this was a busy weekend.

On Friday we went to a wedding of a couple of lifestyle friends.  It was outside and quite nice.  drew knew more people there than I did because he hangs out at a local coffee stop where many of them work.

I don’t even like the smell of coffee so I steer clear of those places usually.  Even tea from them SMELLS like coffee.

Anyway, we did talk to a few people there, but my most interesting conversation with the mother of the groom.

She asked us which of the two we knew and I said that we knew them both, though we had known the groom for longer than the bride, three or four years.

His mother was very nice, and said, “Oh, do you know him from the life…  What is it you call it?”

I said, “Lifestyle?”

She said, “Yes, the lifestyle, is that where you know him?”

I agreed that it was and then said, “I have, in fact, a couple of times shaken my finger at him,” and demonstrated.  “Well, actually, it was more like this,” and raised my gaze about a foot, because the groom is 6’4″ at least, tall and skinny, and had a freshly dyed purple Mohawk for the wedding, which makes him closer to 6’8″.

He often wears a pair of platform boots, though not at the wedding, that add at least another 4″ to 6″ to his height.

He is, as my mother would have said, a tall drink of water.

Anyway, his mother told me she was sure he deserved it – he did – and that I should feel free to continue.

We left relatively early because we were taking care of dogs for friends and had to stop in and check on them, then ran by home to get something, then off to the Friday munch.

We sat with aisha, and her Sir, and Sfp, who was visiting.  We also sat with Charles and jacki, and Cerrin.  In other words, most of my favorite people.  It was a fun munch and to slave drew was in rare form is an understatement.

Then on Saturday we had the Saturday munch.  I sat with Tammy, whom I like a lot and who has been out of touch for a while.  I always enjoy her company.  I chatted with a lot of folks, some familiar faces and some not.

One thing that’s really amazing is the amount of things available in Louisville.

There are three munches a month, the first Friday, first Saturday and fourth Sunday.

There is a group for those 18 to 35 that meets monthly.

There is a special interest discussion group with separate discussions for submissives, dominants and switches, and combined discussion after.

There is a coffee gathering every Wednesday.

There is a kinky book club that meets monthly.

There is a chapter of Masters And slaves Together that meets monthly.

There is a group for people interested in pet play, like puppy or pony.

There is a Club FEM group here, Females Enslaving Males, that meets monthly.

There is another new group that’s just forming.

There are occasional special things, like our upcoming Fringe Elements party, or the formal Leather dinner, or a littles party, and my Bluegrass Leather Pride contest.

There are bar events, too, usually about every month or two.

It’s really fairly amazing, isn’t it?  And I may have missed a group, if so, please forgive me, I think you might be able to see WHY I forgot a group.

People who live in Louisville or visit are really in an enviable position in the kink community.  We have so much available to us.

You would be hard-pressed, I think, to attend every event that’s available to you here.

I think it works out to about 15 gatherings a month – sometimes there are meetings scheduled for Saturday or Sunday afternoon AND Saturday or Sunday evening, too.

But still.

My dining room is nearly painted.  Tomorrow, I’m told, we’ll be able to put the room back together again, or at least begin it.

It won’t be a quick process, I have to unpack all the boxes of dishes and such that were packed.  Most will need to be washed because they’ve been in cupboards and then wrapped in newsprint, so washing is imperative.

I also want to go through my sets of dishes and combine and consolidate some of them.  I’ll be very glad to have all that done so I can begin, but in the meantime, it’s past my bedtime and that whole hour change thing threw me off.

About MsConstanceExplains

Ms Constance has been actively involved in the BDSM/Leather community since the mid-1990’s. She is the Founder of the Louisville Munch as well as its hostess for ten years, from 1997 to 2007, and was christened as “Louisville’s First Lady” by her community. As a member of various BDSM/Leather organizations, she has been nominated for Pantheon Woman of the Year as well as regional awards, and has been nominated with her slave, drew, for Pantheon Couple of the Year. She serves as Special Events Director for the Great Lakes Leather Alliance. She produces the Bluegrass Leather Pride Contest, sending contestants to Great Lakes Leather Weekend, and was Presenters Committee Chair for Leather Leadership Conference 2010 Great Lakes/Ontario. She has produced and judged Leather events and contests, been instrumental in the organization and creation of various groups and clubs, advised and encouraged other communities and endeavors, and produced a performance by a BDSM comedian. Groups around the country use her writings in information and introductory packets, and she is an occasional columnist as well. She and slave drew hold the titles of Great Lakes Master and slave 2003.

Posted on November 4, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. striving for peace

    As always, it was a pleasure to be welcomed by your group. Please thank Drew for his wonderful company — I had a lovely time.

    sfp

  2. wow – quite a picture you painted of the groom – so tall and with the purple mohawk. He sounds intimidating – though not to everyone I suppose – and that’s your point.

    -sin

    • He’s actually not that intimidating in one sense, he’s a switch and while I wouldn’t at all say he was submissive to me, he’s always MORE swapped to the bottom side of the spectrum around me. I’m kind of like the kinky mother hen here, in some ways, so that’s pretty natural.

      It was an interesting wedding, although I don’t think it beats the biker wedding I went to once, in terms of unique.

  3. It was a lot of fun seeing youall at the munch, as always! i have SIG’s on my calendar for sure this month, and need to find out more about the kinky book club. i don’t think i even knew about that!

    And it’s fun to bring out of town guests to the munches. We’ll have to figure out what event to incorporate into the kinky bloggers’ convention, right? 🙂

    aisha

    • Well, you know, aisha, I’m doing my Bluegrass Leather Pride event on the first weekend in March. I plan to have classes, so maybe it’s time for an “Online Presence” track that addresses things like Kinky Blogging, and Writing Effective Erotica. We should talk.

      And the rest of you should mark your calendars, huh?

  4. March, huh? That did get my attention. First weekend in March. We do need to talk!!

    aisha

  1. Pingback: Between the Dashes ~ Kinky. Bloggers. Convention. « aisha

Leave a Reply

