Wednesday Coffee

I went to the Wednesday Coffee gathering tonight, where I was collecting food for the I ♥ it in the Can – Kentucky food drive.

This is the second year I’ve done that, but I’ve often raised money or other donations for different groups.  I’ve raised money for animal shelters and anti-hunger agencies, women’s shelters and AIDS/HIV shelters.

I’ve never kept track of how much, but it’s quite a bit now, probably over $25k over the years, I’d guess.

Anyway, it was perfectly pleasant, and I got quite a few donations there for both Kentucky Harvest and the Animal Care Society, a no-kill shelter.

Someone had brought quite a bit of donations, and told me that it was more than she could carry, and she either seemed to think that I would make her carry it, or I would carry it myself from car to car.

I said, “Oh, I can round up a few pairs of hands, just let me know when.”

About a half hour later she was ready, so I stood up and said to the group of 30-35 people, “Can I have a couple of volunteers to carry some things?”

I think ten people started to stand up and I ended up with five or six people.

My sole contributions were unlocking my car and having snagged the parking spot right in front of the venue, and I can live with that.

The dining room is painted, and I am now in the process of unpacking what got packed up before the project, and also unpacked four boxes of dishes and kitchen things that had been packed for a long time, though they weren’t large boxes, either.

I found some things I’d been looking for, so that was good.  It will take a bit to get it all back together because I want to actually unpack everything and put like with like.  I have silver that’s not been polished in too long, and all the dishes need to be washed, too, because they are at the very least dusty.

I plan to go to drew’s lake house for a couple days over the weekend.  I’ve not been there in too long and Amish country is on the agenda.  It should be really pretty.

In the meantime, however, it’s past my bedtime.

About MsConstanceExplains

Ms Constance has been actively involved in the BDSM/Leather community since the mid-1990’s. She is the Founder of the Louisville Munch as well as its hostess for ten years, from 1997 to 2007, and was christened as “Louisville’s First Lady” by her community. As a member of various BDSM/Leather organizations, she has been nominated for Pantheon Woman of the Year as well as regional awards, and has been nominated with her slave, drew, for Pantheon Couple of the Year. She serves as Special Events Director for the Great Lakes Leather Alliance. She produces the Bluegrass Leather Pride Contest, sending contestants to Great Lakes Leather Weekend, and was Presenters Committee Chair for Leather Leadership Conference 2010 Great Lakes/Ontario. She has produced and judged Leather events and contests, been instrumental in the organization and creation of various groups and clubs, advised and encouraged other communities and endeavors, and produced a performance by a BDSM comedian. Groups around the country use her writings in information and introductory packets, and she is an occasional columnist as well. She and slave drew hold the titles of Great Lakes Master and slave 2003.

Posted on November 7, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

