Kinky Bloggers at Bluegrass Leather Pride

So, my friend aisha and I had talked for a bit about having a Kinky Bloggers Convention.

You can find her blog here.

Anyway, she mentioned it on a blog, and I pointed out that it’s actually pretty easy to make that happen, because I already have an event planned for March 1-3, in Louisville, Kentucky.

That event is Bluegrass Leather Pride, and it will open with a Meet and Greet/Reception traditionally held in a bar, on Friday night.

There we’ll have classes during the day on Saturday, the 2nd.  We’ll break for the Louisville Munch, then come back for the actual Bluegrass Leather Pride contest, followed by a play party.

I’ll also have a keynote speech, and I’m not sure when it will be, it might be at a Sunday brunch of during the contest,

The contest will be entertaining, if nothing else.  I have contestants, I’ve done it before, I know how it works, it’s a lot of work, but it’s work I have experience with.

So every year, I like to do something different, maybe something that’s not really been done before, at least around here, in terms of education.

Making it easy to decide to add a track for your online presence and how to manage it.  I think it might be interesting and probably meaningful for the people that are involved with it.

Sometimes you judge success by value not quantity.

So, anyway, I think that kind of subject could create a lot of value and interest.

I’d like to see a class of some kind on the merits of FetLife and FaceBook and Twitter and all the other places and ways that one can promote oneself.

I’d like to see someone talk about the nuts and bolts of writing erotica, with an idea that erotica can be held to the same standards of writing well.

Addressing marketing your blog would be interesting, too.

If that format didn’t seem workable, it would also be possible to arrange it so it’s a full-day intensive and, basically, you all do whatever you all want, with a general idea of what and how.  You do panels, you practice writing, whatever.

Basically, I’m pretty willing to make it be whatever you all want it to be, within reason.

The caveats are,there will be a fee to attend the event, and I don’t know yet what it will be.  I would expect it would be between $25 and $40, though additional options, like a brunch, would be more.

It will be March 1-3, 2013, in Louisville, Kentucky.  I’ll have a nearby host hotel with, at least, a better rate than usual, probably in the range of $60 to $90 a night, but there are quite a few inexpensive hotels in the area, too.

You’d have a time frame from something like 10am to 5pm or so for the educational portion.

You could also plan to spend time Sunday in someone’s hotel or living room, too, and do more/different things, too, effectively doubling the time you have available to do whatever you want to do.

I don’t expect that I’ll have a location arranged for on Sunday, but I will on Saturday.

On the other hand, realistic responses in terms of who really would be willing/able to attend something like that would be helpful, too.

We’ll do something, regardless, but the more people who show, the more options there are.

So, what do you all think?

About MsConstanceExplains

Ms Constance has been actively involved in the BDSM/Leather community since the mid-1990’s. She is the Founder of the Louisville Munch as well as its hostess for ten years, from 1997 to 2007, and was christened as “Louisville’s First Lady” by her community. As a member of various BDSM/Leather organizations, she has been nominated for Pantheon Woman of the Year as well as regional awards, and has been nominated with her slave, drew, for Pantheon Couple of the Year. She serves as Special Events Director for the Great Lakes Leather Alliance. She produces the Bluegrass Leather Pride Contest, sending contestants to Great Lakes Leather Weekend, and was Presenters Committee Chair for Leather Leadership Conference 2010 Great Lakes/Ontario. She has produced and judged Leather events and contests, been instrumental in the organization and creation of various groups and clubs, advised and encouraged other communities and endeavors, and produced a performance by a BDSM comedian. Groups around the country use her writings in information and introductory packets, and she is an occasional columnist as well. She and slave drew hold the titles of Great Lakes Master and slave 2003.

Posted on November 14, 2012, in Kink and BDSM, Kink Community, Kink Events, Leather Contests, Play Parties and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. striving for peace

    I think we kinky bloggers have a lot to add — and there are pros and cons of blogging – including both positive and negative affects on relationships.

    as you can most likely guess — I’m in — (barring child issues)

    sounds like a blast.

    sfp

  2. I’m in ~ YES!!!

    But you knew that….

    {doing a happy dance}

    aisha

  3. I love the idea. Being able to attend? I don’t know at this point. It will depend on $$ and work. We are at the beginning of moving and all that chaos.

    • I understand. I hate moving. Ick. Maybe if I’d done it oftener, I’d find it less odious.

      • I’ve moved often enough, 4 times transatlantic and I still hate it.

      • I don’t know how many times I’ve moved, but at least three more than I ever wanted to. I’ve moved across country, but always piecemeal. They might have to blast me out of this house.

        But I do also like looking out in my yard and seeing the lilac that I planted which is twice my height now, and the holly I tried so many times to kill in the first few years which is now a 35 foot beautifully shaped tree, or the garden that I have put every plant in myself. I like the memories and history of the place, too, and while I once in a while think, it would be nice if I had blank, well, it’s my house. And I’m good with that.

      • Looking out and seeing progress in a garden is always a good thing. Right now I’m down to hoping that the next house will have garden space. The ex ended up with the house and I’ve had to see the hard work I put into that yard for nearly 16 years slowly decay. ugh.

      • That is depressing. I didn’t live in the house for a few years and my ex wasn’t the gardener. When I moved back, it took me a couple of years to get things back under control and a few shrubs just never have really been manageable since. They got TOO big and there was nothing to be done about it, unfortunately.

        It’s always been interesting, too, seeing the yard mature. I used to have quite a bit of sun, but over the years, as trees have matured, I have far more shade and far less sun…

      • It’s frustrating. I had worked to make the whole yard xeriscaped. It was down to the point where all that needed done was occasional weeding and trimming back or deadheading flowers. That was almost harder to let go of that, than all the books.

        In the house we are in now, there is no real yard. Too dry and windy to plant much. And the deer eat most of what does grow. Amazing the difference less than a mile can make.

        So, I’m hoping at the new house, we will have places where I can potter about.

      • I remember that leaving my garden, when my ex and I broke up, was almost as hard as leaving my dogs. I had planted a lilac bush the first year we were here, and then it never bloomed, until the May I was moving out, when it bloomed its heart out. I remember standing in the yard and crying because I was going to have to leave it.

        Of course, I came back, and now it blooms every spring and smells just as glorious as it did that first year.

      • I have to admit that I waited until he was gone for the weekend and dug up a bunch of irises. I have them here and will transplant them to the next house.

        That, and when they decided to hire a gardener to fix the garden, the gardener came to me to ask what was in the garden and where. I was the only one who knew.

      • Actually, though it’s a not quite the same, but one of the things I love about my garden is the antecedents of a garden and the offspring.

        There are perennial begonias, ones that were given to me maybe ten years ago by one of slave drew’s customers who had acquired them from her husband’s mother. Her husband was nearly 90 at the time. I’ve given starts of it to at least a half dozen people over the years.

        There are iris that I’ve gotten in the Amish country, one big box of them from the Yoders, another from the family that we buy rag rugs and wreaths from. I’ve given some of those away, too, over the years.

        My day lilies are from a now-closed nursery where they dug them for you. Some are from a woman whose yard sale I went to years back and we started talking, and she gave me a large box of them when she culled them. Some are from other yard sales, one from one where I went back on Sunday and the owner dug up four or five buckets of lilies for me and I think he asked for perhaps $15 for all of them.

        Some are from one of the Day Lily Society’s sales, another time that you pointed and they dug. I went there with my friend who is rapidly declining to Alzheimer’s. I’m glad I have that memory.

        Over the years, I’ve given away day lilies, too, to various people.

        I have plants I’ve bought at yard sales and church fund-raisers, some that I can’t even say what they are, though I’ve looked them up, but the names have faded.

        There are plants that were given to me as gifts, too, and those make me smile, too.

      • 🙂 A beautiful sounding garden.

Leave a Reply

