Cookie Monster

So, I didn’t make a LOT of cookies today, but I did make one new batch and baked three kinds.

First, since someone asked in comments, please steal any recipes you like here.  That’s the point of posting them, isn’t it?

Also, I found this for free in the Kindle edition:  The Blogger’s Cookbook.  It might not be free forever, or even long, but it is free when I post it and there is a free Kindle reading application for phones, computers, iMac items, etc.  Seemed appropriate to post it.

Ok, so, today I baked, among others, Pomegranate Butter Cookies.  I made these last year because I had a pomegranate and why the hell not?

slave drew really liked them, but I found them too salty, almost, so this year I tried again and increased the sugar just a bit, and I am very happy with them.

They’re VERY good, like a shortbread with bits of seed in them.  You’ll pierce the seeds when you cut it, but it won’t matter.

I should also mention that I never use the salt in cookie recipes, unless it’s something there is baking soda or powder in it, too, because that’s often part of the chemical reaction, and even so, I probably only add about a quarter of what the recipe calls for.

I eat very little salt, I rarely cook with it.  It annoys me on cooking shows when you’re instructed to add salt because it “adds flavor.”  No, it adds salt, and that’s not the same.

Ok, so much for that soapbox.  Here’s the picture and that recipe.  The pomegranate are the smaller cookies on the left.

IMG_3594ed

Pomegranate Butter Cookies
Makes about 4 dozen cookies

1 cup unsalted butter
3/4cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 large pomegranate

Separate pomegranate seeds from pith and peel and dry.
Beat butter until fluffy, then add sugar and salt and cream together.  Add flour in two stages to the butter mixture, mixing thoroughly after each.  Add seeds to batter and mix well by hand to avoid crushing seeds.
Divide the dough into two and roll into 2” wide cylinders, approximately 8” long.  Let chill in freezer for 45 minutes or the fridge for four hours.  Preheat oven to 325.  Slice cookie cylinders into ½ inch thick rounds, turning every six cuts to maintain round shape.  If it becomes too soft, chill again.  Place slices on baking sheets at least one inch apart and back for 12 minutes.  Switch positions of cookie sheets and bake an additional 10-12 minutes or until set.  Remove from oven and leave cookies on sheets to cool.
Finely chopped almonds, pecans or walnuts can also be added after the seeds.
Very pretty for Christmas with red seeds.

The other cookie on the plate is my mother’s Oatmeal Raisin recipe, which I have altered to use Craisins because I like them better and I like the bit of tartness.

My mother was not a good cook, but she had a few really good cookie recipes, including this one.  Her Peanut Butter Cookies are also the best PB cookies I’ve ever had – that nice mix of sandy and chewy.  Those are made, but none have been baked yet.

These are simple cookies, nothing spectacular about them, except they’re really good.  They are, for me, the best oatmeal raisin cookies I’ve ever had.  And no, there’s no typo, my mother’s name was Lucye.

She was born Lucy, but her name had 13 letters and when she was a teenager someone told her it was unlucky, so she added the e to the end.  Our last name is a bit odd, too, an uncommon spelling of a relatively common name which omits an e.  You have no idea of the issues THAT created.

Lucye’s Oatmeal Cookies

4 cups uncooked oatmeal
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cup shortening
2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup water
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups raisins or Craisins

Heat oven to 350 degrees and grease cookie sheets.  Cream sugar, water, egg, vanilla and shortening together until creamy.  Combine oatmeal, flour, and soda together.  Add dry ingredients and raisins and mix well.  Drop by spoonfuls onto cookies sheet and bake for 12 to 15 minutes.

So, the other cookie I made is one I made up on the fly because I had a jar of maraschino cherries in my fridge left over from the ice cream social at GLLA and I wanted to use them up, so I took an icebox recipe and added to it.  It’s on the plate below, and they’re really a pretty pink color, but it didn’t come out in photos.  So sorry.

IMG_3596ed

Cheery Cherry Cookies
Makes 8-10 dozen

1 cup butter, softened
2 cups white sugar
3 eggs
4 Tablespoons juice from maraschino cherries
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
¾ cup chopped maraschino cherries

In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar until smooth and creamy.  Add cherry juice and a drop or two of red coloring if desired.  Beat in eggs one at a time until incorporated.  Stir in vanilla.  Add flour mixture and mix well.  Add cherries and mix.  Drop by Place about 2 inches apart onto prepared cookie sheet.  Bake in preheated oven for 12 minutes at 350 until firm to the touch.  Immediately transfer to wire racks to cool.

And now a storm is brewing, so I’m off.  Good night to all.

About MsConstanceExplains

Ms Constance has been actively involved in the BDSM/Leather community since the mid-1990’s. She is the Founder of the Louisville Munch as well as its hostess for ten years, from 1997 to 2007, and was christened as “Louisville’s First Lady” by her community. As a member of various BDSM/Leather organizations, she has been nominated for Pantheon Woman of the Year as well as regional awards, and has been nominated with her slave, drew, for Pantheon Couple of the Year. She serves as Special Events Director for the Great Lakes Leather Alliance. She produces the Bluegrass Leather Pride Contest, sending contestants to Great Lakes Leather Weekend, and was Presenters Committee Chair for Leather Leadership Conference 2010 Great Lakes/Ontario. She has produced and judged Leather events and contests, been instrumental in the organization and creation of various groups and clubs, advised and encouraged other communities and endeavors, and produced a performance by a BDSM comedian. Groups around the country use her writings in information and introductory packets, and she is an occasional columnist as well. She and slave drew hold the titles of Great Lakes Master and slave 2003.

Posted on December 9, 2012, in Cooking, Vanilla Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. When you wrote about your mother’s PB cookies:
    “Those are made, but not baked”
    I’m not sure how to do it. My partners have tried a variation of your pomegranate seed cookies (some raisins, walnut pieces also) and they were a hit at our place.
    Thanks for the link to the cookbook.
    We (partners & I) follow your blog and enjoy it.

    • Thanks so much for the kind words, I”m glad you’re enjoying it. I saw I had a BUNCH of typos in that last post – it was getting ready to unleash storm from hell and I was trying to finish before I really HAD to turn off the computer and I really need to go back and fix them, but I haven’t yet.

      The peanut butter got baked today and will make an appearance in today’s blog.

      I have liked these pomegranate cookies much better. I might even be able to learn to spell pomegranate yet.

  2. You are the Cookie Queen.

    aisha

  3. I’ve read a million recipes and never in my life saw one using pomegranate! Awesome!
    Oatmeal are always wonderful and as for the Cheery Cherry Cookies, I will have to forget that I ever saw this recipe! I would eat the whole tray full!
    Thanks so much for sharing these, and Happy Holidaze! 🙂 E

    • The cherry cookies are what I think of as girly cookies – I liked them better than slave drew, but they’re pretty and a change, and used up those cherries, so I’m good. It was actually a pretty nice basic recipe and I may do a bit more with it, maybe melt some chocolate, or chop up some dried apricots I have in it. We’ll see.

      The pomegranate cookies this year were VERY good. Kind of shortbread-like, in the best sense of the word, not overly sweet, and the pomegranates give them a nice light sweetness. And they must be healthy cookies, right? Must be. 🙂

  4. 🙂 I’m catching up…funny that it only takes a day or two before I fall behind here! I love all your recipes, and the pictures are lovely too! You should have a crown. For those “Must Bake” days, a crown would be de regeur, I think!

    nilla

Leave a Reply

