Cookie Insanity

I am a crazy woman.

This is what I baked today:

IMG_3629aa

They are, beginning at the triangular shaped plate and going clockwise around the outside of the table, Chocolate Covered Nuts, Chocolate Chip Cookies, Cheery Cherry Cookies, Rosemary Shortbread, Lucye’s Persimmon Cookies, Peanut Butter Dog Cookies, Confectioner Sugar Cookies, Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies, Cranberry White Chocolate Chip, Santa’s Whiskers, Buttery Brown Sugar Slices, and Pomegranate Butter Cookies.

The three in the middle, left to right, are Lucye’s Peanut Butter Cookies, Lucye’s Oatmeal Craisin Cookies, and Plantation Chews.

Yes, that is fourteen varieties of cookies, and Chocolate Covered Nuts.  I baked at least three dozen of every variety, meaning 14 times 3.  That’s at least 42 dozen, and that would be something over 500 cookies.

A woman obsessed.

Now, to be clear, I also put together 15 cookie trays this morning.  A half dozen have been delivered to friends and neighbors, some will go to the party I’ll be going to tonight, and the rest of that batch will go to the SIG group party tomorrow.

There are still unbaked cookies for most of the varieties in the fridge, though I have baked all the pomegranate and the rosemary shortbreads.

I am done making cookies, too, unless something irresistible strikes my fancy, but tomorrow the cookie baking supplies will get put away – I leave things out while I’m making cookies regularly, but now that I’m done, it can be put away.

I’ve used almost all the flour I had, and there are a few other things that need to be replenished.

So, I made dog cookies and baked the Confectioner Sugar Cookies and the Rosemary Shortbread, and made Chocolate Covered Nuts.

The dog cookies are easy.

IMG_3626aa

Peanut Butter Dog Treats

3 cups whole wheat flour
½ cup rolled oats
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 ½ cups milk
1 ¼ cup peanut butter
1 Tablespoon molasses or honey

Preheat oven to 350.  Combine flour, oats and baking powder in a large bowl.  Mix the milk, peanut butter and molasses or honey until smooth.  Add dry ingredients.  Knead dough with hands.  It will be stiff.  Roll out to ¼” thickness and cut into shapes.

Bake for 20 minutes or until lightly browned.  Turn oven off and leave in oven until cool.  Store in airtight container.  Makes about 3 – 4 dozen treats.

I baked the Confectioner Sugar Cookie, too.  I made some slight adjustments, nothing much, but I did add a healthy dose of almond extract.  I think these would actually be a nice basic dough – it suggested using them for pinwheels or checkerboard cookies, but the dough didn’t seem that firm to me to make that doable.  But the cookie is a nice, light, sugar cookie.

I decorated them with dragees when I baked them.  There was a period of some years when you could not find dragees.  They apparently have enough heavy metal – lead – in them that they had been outlawed.  Bear in mind, you’d be eating an enormous amount of dragees if you consumed a tablespoon of them, and they had only a trace to begin with.

They must have decided a few years ago that they do not represent of horrific public health threat, because they’re available again, and I am all in favor of that.

IMG_3627aaa

Confectioner Sugar Cookies
Makes: 3 dozen

1 cup butter
1 1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon Cream of Tartar

Cream butter. Add sugar. Beat until light. Add egg and vanilla. Beat until fluffy. Add dry ingredients. Stir just until mixed. Refrigerate. Roll, cut and bake for 6 minutes at 350. (ungreased cookie sheet) Cool, frost and decorate.

Variations: Spread unbaked shapes with egg white and decorate with sprinkles-then bake. Add 1 cup chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans here in Texas). Roll in 1″ balls. Bake, cool and toss in a paper lunch sack with confectioner’s sugar to coat.

Roll dough in 1″ balls. Bake, cool and toss in paper bag with sugar/cinnamon mixture to coat.

Add 1 cup of candied fruits to dough. Roll in 1″ balls. Bake and cool.

Divide dough in half. Color dough and use dough as basis of pinwheel cookies or checkerboard cookies.

I baked my Rosemary Shortbread.  The rosemary was freshly snipped, and I used some vanilla sugar around the edges.  I’d originally planned to roll them out, but they never reached a consistency that you could do that with while I still had the ambition, so they became roll cookies, and that’s just fine, too.

They are NOT sweet cookies at all.  More savory.  I imagine they’d be really good with cheese added, too, Parmesan, perhaps.

IMG_3623aa

Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup butter, chilled
1/4 cup sifted powdered sugar
2 tablespoons minced fresh rosemary
2 tablespoons granulated sugar

Process first 4 ingredients in a food processor until mixture forms a ball.  Roll dough to 1/4-inch thickness on a lightly floured surface. Cut with a 2-inch cookie cutter; place on lightly greased baking sheets.

Bake at 325° for 18 to 20 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Sprinkle with granulated sugar. Remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Finally, I made Chocolate Covered Nuts today.  There isn’t really a recipe for it.  You take the chocolate you find in the grocery labelled as “Almond Bark.”

Melt it in the microwave, I use a glass measuring cup.  I used about three and a half squares of it, but I’ve no idea how much that is.  Maybe three or four ounces.

I took a can of salted mixed nuts, the “deluxe” kind that has less than 50% peanuts.  Dump them in your melted chocolate, and mix it up with a fork.

Drop them by spoonfuls onto wax paper.  I let them set for a few minutes, then tuck them in the fridge for a few minutes to set them.

Once they’re set, they don’t re-melt unless they get fairly warm.  It made about 48 of them, but you could make more or less, obviously, depending on sizes, etc.

IMG_3632aa

And that is, I think, mostly the end of my foray into cookie blogging.  That’s not to say that I might not post recipes in the future, but I think I have been an over-achiever in terms of cookie making.

I hope you’ve enjoyed the recipes, and you are all welcome to take them and try them.  If you publish them somewhere, I”d like a link back here, but nothing else.  Beyond that, I only hope you enjoy them.

Some of you reading this will actually get cookie trays, so now you have the recipes for them, too.

I have a party tonight, and I’ve been up since very early, so getting this done before I go will be a very good thing.

My oldest Scottie, Belle, turns 11 today.  Thankfully, she seems to act and feel like a pup most of the time.

Have a great day.

About MsConstanceExplains

Ms Constance has been actively involved in the BDSM/Leather community since the mid-1990’s. She is the Founder of the Louisville Munch as well as its hostess for ten years, from 1997 to 2007, and was christened as “Louisville’s First Lady” by her community. As a member of various BDSM/Leather organizations, she has been nominated for Pantheon Woman of the Year as well as regional awards, and has been nominated with her slave, drew, for Pantheon Couple of the Year. She serves as Special Events Director for the Great Lakes Leather Alliance. She produces the Bluegrass Leather Pride Contest, sending contestants to Great Lakes Leather Weekend, and was Presenters Committee Chair for Leather Leadership Conference 2010 Great Lakes/Ontario. She has produced and judged Leather events and contests, been instrumental in the organization and creation of various groups and clubs, advised and encouraged other communities and endeavors, and produced a performance by a BDSM comedian. Groups around the country use her writings in information and introductory packets, and she is an occasional columnist as well. She and slave drew hold the titles of Great Lakes Master and slave 2003.

Posted on December 15, 2012, in Cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I love all the cookies and recipes! I will have to make the dog treats, although, knowing Wolf, he and Brandy will share. He’s allergic to chocolate, so I make peanut butter cookies a lot.

  2. You are a wild woman. i wouldn’t dream of agreeing that you’re a crazy woman, but a wild woman? Oh,yes.

    🙂

    aisha

Leave a Reply

