Alarms at Night

So, last night I am sleeping soundly, as you might expect, given that it was 4am.

I wake up, slowly, trying to figure out what that sound is.

You know how it is, you’re half-groggy, and it is January, not exactly tornado season.

I spent probably five minutes at least coming awake, trying to figure out what I’m hearing.

Finally, I say to slave drew, “Are those sirens?”

“I think so…”

“Are they TORNADO sirens?”

About then, we both sort of wake up enough to realize that they are, indeed, tornado sirens.

We get up and turn on the television upstairs.  Yes, tornado sirens.  Yep, we’re having what seems to be a hellacious storm, passing over Louisville.

We are warned repeatedly to take shelter, but nothing is HAPPENING around us.

After about 15 minutes, I said, “Let’s go downstairs, if we do need to go to the basement, better to already be downstairs…”

We never went downstairs, it never really got bad here.  It got bad all around us, but it was also a very fast-moving storm, traveling at something like 50+ miles per hour, they said, so it was over and gone before too long, but it still kept us up from 4am to 5am.

And then going back to sleep is not that easy afterwards.

So it was an earlier start than I’d planned on.

I went to the Wednesday Coffee, I had a friend who wanted advice and that was the easiest place to meet.

I chatted with a few people and then came home.

Tomorrow I have a meeting to talk to a venue owner.  We’ll see how it works out.

Friday is the Friday Munch.

Saturday I’ll be in Indy overnight to emcee a contest, then home again Sunday.

A busy week.

I need to do some work on Bluegrass, I need to sell tickets and figure out a schedule for classes and what classes I’ll have.

I need to do some followups on Great Lakes, too.

I also need to do some work on my new site, I needed to move to this site to accommodate some other ideas I want to put into place, so that’s in the works.

I need to respond to comments, and leave the ones I keep meaning to leave.

I need to clean off my desk, and touch base with a half dozen people, too.

So, I have more to do than I have time to do it, and there’s nothing at all unusual in that, is there?

Now, if there are just no more alarms at night.

If you don’t recognize the reference, by the way, which is admittedly vague, it’s from my favorite author, James Thurber, and from my favorite of his books.  You can find the story here.

Remember, too, to take a look at my NEW site on my OWN domain, which you can find here.

About MsConstanceExplains

Ms Constance has been actively involved in the BDSM/Leather community since the mid-1990’s. She is the Founder of the Louisville Munch as well as its hostess for ten years, from 1997 to 2007, and was christened as “Louisville’s First Lady” by her community. As a member of various BDSM/Leather organizations, she has been nominated for Pantheon Woman of the Year as well as regional awards, and has been nominated with her slave, drew, for Pantheon Couple of the Year. She serves as Special Events Director for the Great Lakes Leather Alliance. She produces the Bluegrass Leather Pride Contest, sending contestants to Great Lakes Leather Weekend, and was Presenters Committee Chair for Leather Leadership Conference 2010 Great Lakes/Ontario. She has produced and judged Leather events and contests, been instrumental in the organization and creation of various groups and clubs, advised and encouraged other communities and endeavors, and produced a performance by a BDSM comedian. Groups around the country use her writings in information and introductory packets, and she is an occasional columnist as well. She and slave drew hold the titles of Great Lakes Master and slave 2003.

Posted on January 30, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Glad that the main force of the storm passed you by. I wondered if you’d be affected. We got 8 inches of snow out of the other side of that storm front.

    • Ick, in some ways I would almost rather have the threat of storms than that much snow, but then, I don’t love snow. We have it on the ground today, we got an inch or two last night, and it’s been so cold it’s not going anywhere, but there’s a big difference betten 2″ and 8″, too.

      And they say size doesn’t matter. Ha!

  2. No tornados here but I was dodging falling trees on my way in to work…
    (but I still think I’d chose that over tornado…)

    • I am a big giant sissy about storms like that. Wind scares me. Normally if they tell me to take cover, I am in the basement. This time was different only because there was just NOTHING going on outside and we were near enough we could have gotten there in a minute or less if needed.

Leave a Reply

